Plitvice Lakes National Park

Plitvice Lakes National Park is Croatia’s best-known national park, listed on the UNESCO List of World Heritage sites. It is a popular visiting destination all year round, well known for its system of cascading lakes – whereby sixteen lovely lakes are interconnected by cascades and waterfalls. The park is simply beautiful.

The main focus of park’s beauty are sixteen lakes , divided into two parts – Gornja jezera (Upper lakes) and Donja Jezera (Lower Lakes), as well as numerous waterfalls and cascades.

The region is established as National Park in April 1949, declaring Plitvice Lakes as the area of a exceptional natural beauty. That was first National Park in Croatia.

Later on, in 1979, Plitvice was put by UNESCO on the of World’s cultural and natural inheritance.

Located in Lika, covering the region that is bordered by mountains Mala Kapela, Medveđak and Gornja Plješevica, National Park extends over an area of just under 30 thousand hectares (about 300 square kilometres), including forests (14 thousand hectares), water, meadows, pastures as well as scattered hamlets in between (Rastovača, Poljanak, Jezerce,Plitvica).

It is a habitat of eleven forest communities including beech, fir, spruce and pine species.

The Park is also populated by variety of animals including bears, wolves, otters, wild boars, skunks, squirrels, rabbits, foxes and numerous bird species.

Info about National Park:

Vital Statistics:

  • Area of the NP: 29 685 ha
  • Highest point: Seliški vrh (1279 m)
  • Lowest point: Koranski most (367 m)
  • Deepest lake: Kozjak (47 m)
  • Largest Lake: Kozjak (81.5 ha)
  • Largest Waterfall: Veliki Slap (78 meters)